Day two, and more rebellions

The second day of the Legislative and Regulatory Reform Bill’s Report stage saw five small Labour rebellions and one larger Tory rebellion.

The most interesting division of the evening came when fifteen Conservatives and five Labour MPs supported Liberal Democrat New Clause 14, which would have introduced a Commons veto if 10 per cent of MPs objected to a deregulatory order.

The five Labour MPs were: Jeremy Corbyn; Mark Fisher; Lynne Jones; John McDonnell; and Robert Wareing.

The 15 Conservatives, rebelling whilst their frontbench abstained, were: William Cash; Christopher Chope; Kenneth Clarke; Stephen Dorrell; Charles Hendry; Greg Knight; Peter Luff; Richard Shepherd; Anthony Steen; Charles Walker; John Whittingdale; David Wilshire; Rob Wilson; Ann Winterton; and Sir George Young. This rebellion was therefore larger than the European trainspotters vote of the previous day.

There then followed three further Labour rebellions. Jeremy Corbyn and Mark Fisher were the only Labour backbenchers to support another Liberal Democrat New Clause that would have stopped ministers, by Order in Council, from conferring to any person the function of legislating. Kelvin Hopkins was the only Labour MP to support New Clause 17 (debated the previous day, but not divided upon until yesterday) in the that would have made it explicit that Parliament could introduce deregulatory legislation notwithstanding the provisions of the European Communities Act 1972. Finally, six Labour MPs – the five from Clause 14, plus Alan Simpson – supported a Conservative amendment that would have stopped ministers from making deregulatory orders if either House of Parliament so resolved within a forty-day period, or if a Committee of either House charged with reporting on the draft order recommended within forty days that the order should not be proceeded with:

The Third Reading of the Bill was eventually passed by 259 votes to 213, a Government majority of forty-six. Six Labour MPs – Corbyn, Hopkins, McDonnell, Wareing, plus Peter Kilfoyle and Bob Marshall-Andrews – voted against the Government, whilst several other Labour backbenchers, including Mark Fisher, Kate Hoey, Lynne Jones and Alan Simpson, abstained.

There were therefore seven Labour rebellions over the last two days, but consisting of just ten MPs in total; the two Conservative rebellions involved sixteen Tory MPs.